Hating Scott Adams

One of the blogs I read is The Evolving Scientist, and a recent post takes issue with the latest Dilbert comic. Scott Adams (Dilbert author) is anti-science, the post goes.

There is also this bit:

Scott Adams, creator and current author of the cartoon Dilbert, is a dick. He pretends to be his own fan online and is a horrible boss on par with that which he depicts in his comic. Not to mention, last year he distorted behavior ecology in animals to justify sexual abuse towards women.

While you’re entitled to your opinions about the meaning and interpretations of the comic that you find offense with, let me venture some conjectures—you tell me how much I got right.

How am I doing with the conjecture bit?

I’ve enjoyed reading The Evolving Scientist for a while now—but today you lost a little bit of my respect. As I said, you’re free to put forward your interpretations of the comic, but you should be a little bit more thorough before you declare to “hate” someone.

By the way, this was my takeaway from the NY Times article:

On the other hand, employees also say he knows his limitations and combines deep trust in them with an instinctive ability to motivate people. They understand that to survive in this age of dominant restaurant chains, they must embrace some of his more unusual ideas and obsessions — but more on those later.

No one is more critical of his management skills than the humorist himself. “I’m quite sure I’ve succumbed to the pigeon theory of management,” he said. “Flying in every so often and dumping on everything.”

Oh, and I tried searching for the other reasons that you hate Scott Adams, but my searches with both “Scott Adams” and “Dilbert” returned empty results on your blog. Would you fix the search option, please?

"No Results"

"No Results"

One thought on “Hating Scott Adams

  1. “you tell me how much I got right”

    Can do!

    I don’t read his blog, no, because I tend to ignore him based on his misogyny. His comic came up on my Google Reader last night and it made me mad. I closely followed the story last year when he posted the “men are rapey” stuff, and remembered his sock puppet message board antics and article on his bad boss. I did find the NYT article from the Gawker post originally, but I remembered “men are rapey” and “he’s a terrible restauranteur” before I looked up his sock puppet stuff. I worked in the upscale restaurant industry for a year before I came to graduate school, and took offense to his NYT article when I first read it last year.

    The blog wasn’t started until June, and I didn’t start blogging until after the controversy had subsided. So we didn’t talk about it on the blog before, no. The post title was a joke.

    I think I’m familiar enough with Scott Adams’s misgivings to place yesterday’s comic in a fair context. Even at face value, if I hadn’t reminded everyone of his past dickishness, it’s offensive to those who support science. The commenters below the post make a much more fair point than you do that I was being unjust since I have no evidence that Scott Adams is a religious apologist. I created the context based on his much publicized skewing of science from his “men are rapey” post.

    Scott Adams has put forth opinions on a large scale as a somewhat public figure that I take serious offense towards. And he is a dick and I hate him based on that.

Leave a Reply

