Snow Leopard

Apple’s latest OS offering, Snow Leopard, is here (and is now on my computer).

And I like what I see! Of course this was supposed to be an under-the-hood improvement rather than features that you could actually see, and the result is definitely noticeable.

Boot up and shut down times are much quicker; so is the time to come out of sleep mode. Programs launch much more quickly too. I thought Leopard was fast, all these days. Well, Snow Leopard is faster.

I like the small feature tweaks that they have included. I’ve not yet gone through all the small things, but overall, this is a welcome boost in performance!!

The only thing I didn’t like is the conversion from 1GB=1024MB (previously) to 1GB=1000MB (now). While I realize that the industry has now moved to the 1000MB system, I still like the computer to tell me space counts on the 1024MB model. But I guess that’s just something that you get used to.

As to all the phobia about some software not functioning properly, I have not found any evidence of that. Photoshop CS4 runs fine, so does most of my other programs. I say most because I’m sure I haven’t actually run all my programs, but yes, I think it’s all fine.

So yes, the excitement now having subsided, it’s time to get back to other more normal stuff. Ciao.

P.S.: It’s really fun though, to read through some of the reviews out there. There are some that are evidently PC and Microsoft biased, and bring out some inane logic for people to not opt for the Snow Leopard. There’s also this other section of people who are evidently Apple biased, and who in turn bring out equally inane logic for people to run, jump, and go crazy over the new OS. (Can’t find links right now, will update post with them when I can. :P)

It’s much fun, but neither of those is true. It’s a good new OS, it has some tweaks that to me are typical Apple (simple feature tweaks, that seem to make life just that bit easier, and computing just that bit more elegant), but it’s not something that you’d die for (of course, since most of it is under the hood).

On the other hand, it’s a great OS, and there’s no reason to boycott it either.

2 thoughts on “Snow Leopard

  1. Trust me. It may not be something to die for, for someone upgrading from Leopard to Snow Leopard. It certainly is for the poor millions who still stare at Windows for the better part of their lives. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. he he. Yes, you’re right, of course… It’s been a year and a half since I’ve moved over, and I don’t think I’m going back any time soon… ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

