MS Dhoni: Test Captain?

I think he’s ready. Anil Kumble might be the seniormost statesman in the side, by I think MS Dhoni is by far the best cricketing brain, and the best captain, in the side.

I’ve said this before, and I say this again: After Sourav Ganguly, Dhoni has been the only captain to seem a worthy successor. Not Rahul Dravid, not Anil Kumble. Well, I think Sehwag would have made a good captain, but I think he hurt his chances right around the time Dhoni made his mark and Sehwag dropped his form.

An aggressive captain who is not afraid to innovate, someone who is ready to take responsibility on his own shoulders (even promoting himself up the order when he deems fit), and who backs himself and his team tremendously… Dhoni smacks of the Ganguly of yore, and perhaps, and hopefully, even more.

I will not talk about Anil Kumble retiring, but I will make a call to have a new Test Captain of India.

It will be fitting – to have MS Dhoni take up the captaincy when Sourav Ganguly leaves the game.

2 thoughts on “MS Dhoni: Test Captain?

  1. Pingback: Adios, Anil Kumble « Globe Trekker

Leave a Reply

